Gives Me Hope

14 04 2010

Today was not a good day. I made the mistake of reading the comments on Amanda Hess’s latest Sexist Beatdown. There is so much hatred there- I don’t even want to think about it. It made me despair. Men like them are all around me, and I have to go through the rest of my days surrounded by men who don’t believe I’m a human being, who’d rather see me dead than not. That’s not a thought to inspire hope, courage, or anything other than a desire to crawl under the blankets and never, ever come out.

Which is why I am so grateful to the friend who sent me this video. It’s a completely different issue, and there is a line or two of abelist language, but to hear someone- and not just anyone, a famous, white, (presumably) cis dude- stand up for the unprivileged almost made me cry. In the best possible of ways. Enjoy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

